top of page

Artist Rise Up Masterclass- "Becoming a Thriving Christian Artist" Class Challenge Pieces


"CHALLENGE #1 " Homework: This is "The Call". It is a Hand Hooked and mixed media 5" x 5" piece with 100% wool fabric strips and a little wool yarn on Angus Burlap, antique shell buttons, sterling silver ring, metallic cord, brass wire, antique rug hook and metal charm.






Challenge #2 Homework: I chose the 1st of the 5 Characteristics of a Thriving Christian Artist -"Cultivating Your Heart & Mind" This 5" x 5" Mixed Media piece is Hand Hooked with 100% wool fabric (hand dyed & textured) through Angus burlap. The heart has been clipped so that the hand dyed wool gives a velvety look. The brain is made up of 6 different textured grays. This piece is too small to hook everything that I wanted to convey the message, so I made most of the embellishments (Bible, art book, & computer)- these are all ways we can get information about God & art - The gold seed packet charm =the computer, Bible and books area ways to plant the seeds. The Praying Hands= to ask for God's Guidance, that leads to the many doors for us to start creating with Him.




Challenge #3 - 5 Roadblocks. I chose the 1st of the 5 Roadblocks of a Thriving Christian Artist- “FEAR”. This is a Hand Hooked Mixed Media 5" x 5". I have chosen to do these little collages because of the limited time between challenges. It would take me longer to hook everything thing pictured in my work. But it has been amazing that God has shown me that I have everything already in my supply stash. God is Good!!! This piece is made up of Hand Dyed wool fabric hooked through Angus Burlap, wooden Scrabble letters, beads, laminated paper, metallic cord, buttons, and charms. As I thought and prayed about this piece, I kept thinking about my faith. If I am anchored in my faith God is my compos and the light of my path. He will show the light into the darkness of my fear to push away the toxic thoughts that I may have, smooth over the toxic words of others, allowing me to dream, imagine and then create. Remember Toxic words and Critiquing are two different things. When I get a tough critique it just makes me want to work on that area of my art harder and it is for the best. My work improves.


Challenge #4 Picking one of the 5 ways of Accelerating & Sustaining Your Breakthrough. I picked #2 of the 5. "Investing in Your Assignment". This is a Hand Hooked & Mixed Media 5" x 5" piece- 100% wool fabric hooked through Angus Burlap with laminated paper, plastic beads, watch face, metal charms and miniature stretched canvas. -Like the work to turn the lump of coal into a diamond, it will take work to have a thriving art career. Investing time/work -learning more about God, art, and improving my skills, entering artists calls for exhibits and art shows. Investing Money -classes, supplies, exhibit entries, art shows, and making studio space to allow for creativity to flow.

22 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page